Birthday 2

My son was 2 on Monday.

2 years old. That’s around 2190 Nappies, or 0 unbroken nights sleep.

nedistwo1

The birthday party was actually the day before his birthday – Sunday – and we went with our assembled family to a pub for lunch. The pub had a soft play area which I thought would appeal to Neds nature – his nature being that he’s a 2 year old that likes soft play. We returned home with everyone, where we ate a cake in the shape of a caterpillar, made by my wifes fair(ish) hand

nedistwo2

Reluctantly, I helped my son finish some, because I’m such a bloody helpful dad

nedistwo3

and watched Ned run around the house wondering why everyone he knew was in his living room all at once. We even managed to get the entire family posed for a photo. It was a good day.

nedistwo4

On his actual birthday, we went with Claires brother and his wife to Broadway (not that Broadway) which was a pretty little village. Claire ate cod cheeks and I had a large sausage (Insert joke here)

nedistwo5

It’s hard to put into words how I feel about Ned turning two. It’s amazing, fantastic and exciting, but at the same time sad and terrifying. To think that that little boy – and he is that, an actual BOY – is my son, and we’ve spent the past two years, protecting and raising him the best that we as parents can… it’s mindblowing. He’s been the literally center of our universe for over 2000 nappies worth of years, and I just can’t believe how quickly it’s happened. As I sit here, writing about him on my phone, as he runs around the house in his pajamas, chewing a Christmas decoration, I honestly feel blessed to be a part of his life, and for him to be a part of mine and Claires. Maybe it’s the season, but my heart certainly feels twice the size it was before, and I think it’s in no small part down to the little guy who calls me ‘Dad’ (and sometimes ‘mum’ because he hasn’t quite got that down yet – we’re working on it)

Happy birthday kid, keep up the good work.

nedistwo6

Leave a Reply

