Proper Pucker

I’m busy this week, meaning that there is very little in the way of a blog post. However, a short one about something amazing should be enough.

Yesterday evening, for no reason, I started singing ‘The Time Of My Life’ – yes, that one. Just the first line (So ending on a very sexy, deep voiced ‘And I owe it all to youuuu’) I sang it at my Son – I say at, because to say I sang it ‘To’ him would mean that I wasn’t 5 inches from his face, following him around the living room the whole time. If ever a Dirty Dancing song has been sung in an intimidating fashion, this was a perfect example.

I repeated this line about 12 times, following my son around. He surprisingly didn’t call the NSPCC, instead, he found it funny (which thankfully, was the intention)

Afterwards, for fun, I puckered my lips and asked for a kiss. No particular reason, we always find it funny the way Ned avoids kisses from his parents, so I just wanted to mess about more (I’d grown sick of the song)

To mine and Claires amazement, something extraordinary happened.

Ned calmly walked over to me, and gave me a kiss.

I say kiss, I mean open mouthed headbutt, leading with his lips, directed at my lips – but it was unmistakingly a kiss, and by no one was taking that away from me.

I puckered up again.

Again, I got a kiss. It wasn’t a one off.

Here is visual evidence:

nedkiss

Claire tried. She got a kiss too.

Suddenly a dust cloud appeared, it got in my eyes, they started watering and that definately happened.

This was one of the greatest nights of my Parenthood.

Stupid dusty living room.

 

2 thoughts on “Proper Pucker

  1. Hello Kyle,

    Couldn’t find an email address for you, so I’m just going to jump straight in!

    I’m Heather – I hope you don’t mind me getting in touch. World Book Day (March 7) is approaching quicker than I can get through a Harry Potter novel, and as a representative of Angels Fancy Dress (fancydress.com), I’d like to personally invite you to join us in waxing lyrical about the wonders of the written word.

    We make costumes, granted, but some of the costumes have a rich heritage in the world of literature. Speaking of Harry Potter, in our collection we have some of the originals – as worn by Daniel Radcliffe and chums in the Hollywood films.

    We’d like to invite you to a complimentary tour of Angels’ London costume warehouse on February 13. We’ve handpicked some of our favourite writers and bloggers to show around our collection. Think of it like a tour of Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory – for fancy dress fans. You can read more about what our tours entail here http://www.angels.uk.com/thetour.html.

    After that we’ll showcase some our best children’s costumes – all based on Book Week of course. There may also be an outfit to take back to the kids…and cake.

    I don’t want to inundate you with details now, but if you are interested please let me know and I can let you know more about the day.

    Many thanks for your time and I hope to hear from you soon.

    Best,

    Heather

    • Hi Heather.

      Apologies for the delay. Sadly I can’t make the 13th due to work commitments, but it sounds like a fantastic event. In the future, my contact details are kyle_packer@hotmail.co.uk (reminds me I should really add this to the blog)

      Have a great tour day on the 13th.

Leave a Reply

